Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to this, selecting a hearing aid is not easy!

Thumbs up New to this, selecting a hearing aid is not easy!

Brand newbie here.... Just bought my first hearing aids. Hearing loss first noticed 25 years ago with inability to hear piezo chirps, but over time the loss point came down the frequency scale until it began to seriously interfere with speech understanding. Finally gave in, got tested.

Expected a high price, but was amazed at the quotes... over $7500 for a pair of Oticon Agil pro's. Being a prudent shopper and good researcher, I set out to get educated and do better.

Finding qualified info to compare aids with is quite difficult, and I see by reading here that most people would agree. I did find a lot of insightful posts here. One pointed me away from what had been my first choice. Another helped me realize that the RIC was likely to give me the most acceptable result. Overall, I probably got more useable information here than from any manufacturer or provider's website, and I thank you all!

Came to the point where I felt ready to make a decision. Today I ordered a pair of Hansaton Auriga 701 RIC's with the TEK remote, from a seller found online. I called (multiple times) and got straight, logical answers with no hassle or pressure. I asked about adjustments and service, and got good answers there too. I said too bad I can't do my own adjustments, and he asked if I was computer skilled- I am. He said I could order the same software and transmitter they use to program and do it myself I wanted to- and so I did that too, adding $400. Total price $2849, easily a $5K savings over a local provider and substantially more to my liking.

Of course I'm hoping I've made a good choice. I will no doubt post more about these units when I've had a chance to use them, and perhaps I will be able to share some helpful information too.

Very good and useful forum!

2. Default

Is it Siemens Pure?