Thread: Looking for answers to some questions regarding cochlear implants, need three people to reply?

1. Default Looking for answers to some questions regarding cochlear implants, need three people to reply?

Hi there,

I am studying aural rehabilitation and I have some questions about cochlear implants. Unfortunately, I don't know anyone who personally has them. The truth is, I would love to hear your personal stories and maybe we could even stay in touch. Could I have three people answer the following questions? I'd like to learn all I can. Thank you so much for any help you may be able to provide!

1. When did you have the surgery to get your cochlear implant?

2. After you were implanted, how long did it take before you were able to see benefit
    from the implant?

3. What situations are best for listening with your implant?

4. What situations are hardest for you when listening with your implant?

5. What complaints do you have about your cochlear implant?

6. Do you feel like your cochlear implant has lived up to what your audiologist and/or
    surgeon told you it would do?

7. Do you think you do better with the implant as compared to when you had hearing aids?

I would love to hear your stories!

1) October 2015

2) When they activated the implant, two weeks following the surgery

3) So far one on one speaking is best and I can hear more environmental sounds that I had not been able to hear for a while

4) Noisy situations like restaurants, multi-person meetings in large rooms (especially with windows). Don't ask me why but windows really mess with hearing aids and cochlears.