Thread: Cochlear Implant Consultation Visit Expectations

Default Cochlear Implant Consultation Visit Expectations

I am scheduled for an Cochlear Implant Consultation visit Dec. 7. I am completely deaf in my right ear and have about 40% in my left ear with a hearing aid. I have been wearing hearing aids since I was 5 years old. I am now 54 years old. I have been wearing a Beltone analog hearing aid for the last 20 years and have loved it and then switched to analog. My ENT doctor says that the Phonak Bolero Q70 is not powerful enough and that I need to have Cochlear Implant and that I was a candidate. My audiologist told me that if I didn't choose the implant that the best thing for me to do was find another analog that was as powerful as I have now. I was told about 10 years ago that I was a candidate for the implant by world renowned Dr. Shea in Memphis. At the time I felt that I was doing fine with the hearing aid and didn't want to go through with the surgery. Now I am seriously considering the surgery and have been doing an enormous amount of research. Will the surgeon tell me which brand processor or do I get to pick and choose? I am considering the Advance Bionics since I can use the same accessories (Compilot, tv link). Also want to purchase the Easy Call accessory with the Advance Bionics.

Another question I have is surely there is a hearing aid out there that is has as much power as a Cochlear implant or close to it. I took my Beltone hearing aid to the dispenser to have it cleaned and he was saying they had a hearing aid that was as powerful and that I didn't need the surgery. I am sure he just wanted the commission but then so the doctors. They want the insurance money as well.. I just don't know who to trust and believe.