Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 55

Thread: Oticon Opn is now available in three performance levels

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Oticon Chili SP9 x 2
    Oticon Streamer Pro 1.3 App
    Oticon TV adapter2
    Oticon ConnectLine Microphone
    Oticon Genie with NOAHlink

    125---70---65
    250---70---70
    500---85---85
    1000-100--100
    2000-115--115
    3000-115

  2. Default

    I looked up the differences between the Opn1, 2 and 3 online, and all they show is 4 areas, rapid noise reduction, localization of sounds, speech clarity, and personalized listening experience, where the Opn1 has 3 dots, the Opn2 has 2 dots, and the Opn3 has 1 dots.

    I assume that all 3 versions must be on the same Velox platform. I wonder if they simply disable the functionalities somehow to come up with the 3 versions, or if they use different grades of the chips for the different models. For example, the chips that pass their speed tests go to the Opn1, those that don't go to the Opn2 and 3 where maybe they slow down the clocks a bit or something so that they still work but operate at slower speeds.
    HA wearer since the 1990's > Rexton Insite+ CIC (2011-2016) > Oticon OPN RITE (2016)

    KHz 0.25...0.5...0.75...1.0...1.5...2.0...3.0...4.0... 6.0...8.0

    Left ...10...10....10.....30.....70....75....80....95.. ..90....80
    Right .25...30....40.....55.....75....85....90....90...1 00...100

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,475

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Volusiano View Post
    I looked up the differences between the Opn1, 2 and 3 online, and all they show is 4 areas, rapid noise reduction, localization of sounds, speech clarity, and personalized listening experience, where the Opn1 has 3 dots, the Opn2 has 2 dots, and the Opn3 has 1 dots.

    I assume that all 3 versions must be on the same Velox platform. I wonder if they simply disable the functionalities somehow to come up with the 3 versions, or if they use different grades of the chips for the different models. For example, the chips that pass their speed tests go to the Opn1, those that don't go to the Opn2 and 3 where maybe they slow down the clocks a bit or something so that they still work but operate at slower speeds.
    No, same chip, same aids physically. Purely EEPROM changes through the manufacturer menu within Genie 2.
    'He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.'
    Link to my entry in the Hidden Content section.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - Maintenance Stuff
    Hidden Content Hidden Content
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    141

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Um bongo View Post
    No, same chip, same aids physically. Purely EEPROM changes through the manufacturer menu within Genie 2.
    Um Bongo, how to access this manufacturer menu? Is this menu present in Oticon Genie and Phonak iPFG? I want to turn my old Naida V UP to Naida IX UP. If this information is confidential, please answer me in private messages.

    P. S. I have Oticon CATHI and own programmer, but even CATHI cannot change level (described by model number)
    Oticon Chili SP9 x 2
    Oticon Streamer Pro 1.3 App
    Oticon TV adapter2
    Oticon ConnectLine Microphone
    Oticon Genie with NOAHlink

    125---70---65
    250---70---70
    500---85---85
    1000-100--100
    2000-115--115
    3000-115

  5. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by russiandeaf View Post
    Um Bongo, how to access this manufacturer menu? Is this menu present in Oticon Genie and Phonak iPFG? I want to turn my old Naida V UP to Naida IX UP. If this information is confidential, please answer me in private messages.

    P. S. I have Oticon CATHI and own programmer, but even CATHI cannot change level (described by model number)
    I'm sure it's not that easy to install the firmware of an Opn1 onto an Opn3 to make an Opn3 work like an Opn1. Same for Phonak for that matter. At least I don't think they'd enable it at the level where the audi can access through Genie 2 to make that happen. But you never know, maybe there's a back door.
    HA wearer since the 1990's > Rexton Insite+ CIC (2011-2016) > Oticon OPN RITE (2016)

    KHz 0.25...0.5...0.75...1.0...1.5...2.0...3.0...4.0... 6.0...8.0

    Left ...10...10....10.....30.....70....75....80....95.. ..90....80
    Right .25...30....40.....55.....75....85....90....90...1 00...100

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    553

    Default

    My take was this is "manufacturer" level software. I would assume it's pretty restricted. It would have to be, otherwise somebody could by entry level and resell as premium level. My understanding is that all that separates the levels of a lot of modern aids is the software.
    .25 .5 1 1.5 2 3.0 4.0 6.0 8.0

    15 15 20 30 30 55 75 90 NR ​KS7
    10 10 20 15 25 35 65 85 95 WRS 100/92@45/40

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Posts
    3,475

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MDB View Post
    My take was this is "manufacturer" level software. I would assume it's pretty restricted. It would have to be, otherwise somebody could by entry level and resell as premium level. My understanding is that all that separates the levels of a lot of modern aids is the software.
    Essentially yes, we wouldn't get to see this level outside of the manufacturing centres. The one exception is Unitron who have written their recent EEPROM with unlock codes to allow upgrades. You can always try the upgrade first without the code on a time limited basis.
    'He who is not courageous enough to take risks will accomplish nothing in life.'
    Link to my entry in the Hidden Content section.
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content - Maintenance Stuff
    Hidden Content Hidden Content
    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content Hidden Content

  8. #18

    Default

    if this is just a software upgrade the manufacture should just provide the best available software and stop ripping off the hearing impaired consumers. One would think that there is some regulation that covers this.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Central California
    Posts
    553

    Default

    I think "just" software is not recognizing the tremendous amount of cost that goes into it's development. A lot of software companies have different levels of software. Are they ripping you off by not selling you their top level software for the same price as their entry level software?
    .25 .5 1 1.5 2 3.0 4.0 6.0 8.0

    15 15 20 30 30 55 75 90 NR ​KS7
    10 10 20 15 25 35 65 85 95 WRS 100/92@45/40

  10. Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JustEd View Post
    if this is just a software upgrade the manufacture should just provide the best available software and stop ripping off the hearing impaired consumers. One would think that there is some regulation that covers this.
    I would rather see them reduce some of the functionalities through software to make the HAs more affordable at different price points. It can only benefit the consumers to have more choices. It's also a smart move to expand their market share.
    HA wearer since the 1990's > Rexton Insite+ CIC (2011-2016) > Oticon OPN RITE (2016)

    KHz 0.25...0.5...0.75...1.0...1.5...2.0...3.0...4.0... 6.0...8.0

    Left ...10...10....10.....30.....70....75....80....95.. ..90....80
    Right .25...30....40.....55.....75....85....90....90...1 00...100

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •