Thread: Music streaming experiences with Linx2

Unhappy Music streaming experiences

I had the HAs Resound Linx2 962 for two months to evaluate. The ability to stream music from my iPhone 6 has renewed my interest in music. I move around a lot, inside and out, so speakers have not worked so well for me, and besides my wife listens to podcasts and does not need the music. Changing back and forth between HA and earbuds is not appealing. I am a retired physics professor from Purdue.

My first issue with the Linx2 and streaming music was bass response. I partly fixed this by having my audi increase bass amplification for the iPhone streaming mode, and by having him fit a higher power receiver (no extra cost). It still helps to turn bass all the way up and treble all the way down in the gntuner iPhone app. By using this tone generator streaming from the iPhone browser: http://www.szynalski.com/tone-generator/ the response for a sine wave still drops fast below 100 Hz. So I choose music that does not have deep bass such as solo piano and solo guitar. I never get tired of listening to Schiff play Bach English and French suites.

My next issue with the Linx2 and streaming music was distortion Ė extra sounds related to the music but otherwise random. I finally figured out that it was interference from the iPhone WiFi. If I sat down far from the house or if I turned off the iPhone WiFi in the house, then the interference went away. I do not get interference when I sit near the router while other devices are using the WiFi. Without WiFi I canít stream Pandora, etc.

The next issue is low frequency noise and distortion. It is not too obvious with music, but eventually really bothersome to me. It is very obvious with the tone generator (link above) when set below 300 Hz. The tone generator also reveals an extra low frequency when set above 3 kHz. This may be intentional for speech but there should be a music mode without it.