Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Time to retire and replace my Phonak Exalia Art HA's

Default Time to retire and replace my Phonak Exalia Art HA's

I have been using my Phonak Exalia Art HA's for about 5-6 years now. They are no longer up to the job either because they are worn out or my hearing has worsened.
    I have an appointment with my ear doctor for an exam follow by an audio test. Since I am now in the market and believe that my Exalia Art's @ approx. $6000 pr. when new
    will likely need replacement by similarly expensive new HA's, I am looking for recommendations both pro and con regarding three manufacturers: Phonak, Resound, and
    Widex. In addition to hearing better, I need to interface with my TV, ( I have the Phonak i Com), with streaming and my iPhone (OS9). Naturally, any less expensive hearing aids
    that will perform well with near profound hearing loss will be appreciated.

Any recommendations?

Since you mentioned less expensive, Costco has the Resound Cala 8 in a BTE. I don't know if it's powerful enough for your hearing loss, but it would give you streaming with your iPhone for under $3000. Widex Beyond would also give you direct streaming to your iphone, but at significantly more cost. Since you're used to Phonax, you might prefer their sound, but you won't get direct iPhone streaming. (You'll need an intermediate device)
    .25 .5 1 1.5 2 3.0 4.0 6.0 8.0

15 15 20 30 30 55 75 90 NR ​KS7
    10 10 20 15 25 35 65 85 95 WRS 100/92@45/40

If the reason you singled out these 3 brands is because they provide direct iPhone streaming, the Oticon OPN also direct iPhone streaming now as well. Since you mentioned near profound loss, the OPN now also has size 100 receiver, but I don't know if that's good enough for near profound loss or not.
    HA wearer since the 1990's > Rexton Insite+ CIC (2011-2016) > Oticon OPN RITE (2016)

KHz 0.25...0.5...0.75...1.0...1.5...2.0...3.0...4.0... 6.0...8.0