Thread: Are Rexton Bridge 12s right for me?

Default Are Rexton Bridge 12s right for me?

Hi,

A first timer, I've been wearing a pair of Rexton Bridge 12 BTE Free since early June (2010). Gone through the four stages of cranking them up. I like that I can now hear the high-pitched kingbird's song, and that I can tell from with direction a car is coming. I like that I feel no occlusion. But I'm wondering now if these particular hearing aids are right for me.

1. I continue to have problems distinguishing "s" from "f" from "th", especially if the speaker is on my right. The Rexton Bridge 12 BTE Open/Free has a fitting range of 70 dB at 3kHz, and 72 dB (vs. my right ear 100 dB) at 4kHz. Should this hearing aid be able to help me distinguish the 3rd formants for "s" and "f" and "th"?

2. If someone murmurs a comment to me in a room full of people, I cannot hear it any more than before I got the Rexton Bridge 12s. I just see lips moving. Is this a setting adjustment?

3. At their current final setting, the hearing aids are painfully loud when my wife has the television set where it's comfortable for her. Am I damaging my ears?

Any comments greatefully received. Thanks in advance.

Nate Y.
    0250Hz L-10 R-15
    0500Hz L-10 R-15
    1000Hz L-10 R-15
    1500Hz L-15 R-35
    2000Hz L-15 R-45
    3000Hz L-55 R-70
    4000Hz L-50 R-100 masked
    6000Hz L-45 R-95 masked
    8000Hz L-40 R-90 masked
    SRT L=10, R=20
    Word Recognition
    L 88% +40 SL
    R 96% +40 SL

Quote Originally Posted by nyoo View Post
    Hi,

A first timer, I've been wearing a pair of Rexton Bridge 12 BTE Free since early June (2010). Gone through the four stages of cranking them up. I like that I can now hear the high-pitched kingbird's song, and that I can tell from with direction a car is coming. I like that I feel no occlusion. But I'm wondering now if these particular hearing aids are right for me.