Thread: siemens acuris vs oticon agil pro

Default siemens acuris vs oticon agil pro

I've been using siemens acuris life for 4 years now, but am not able to hear at movies, plays. Gatherings are hard, even small gatherings. And,unless restaurants are very quiet, I can't make out much of what is said if there are more than 3 people. So I responded to a promotional ad from a different audiologist last week, had a new hearing test, and am intrigued by the description of the oticon agil pro (and the bluetooth features). The 6400.00 price with bluetooth tv adapter and streamer is going to be painful. I'm being fitted in a week, and there is a 75 day trial, but really will have to decide within three weeks if I'm going to be able to use my insurance's 500.00 reimbursement to me, because that feature of the policy doesn't continue in 2011. The benefit over my Siemens Acuris Life would have to be significant. I told the audiologist that the chances weren't better than 50/50 that the added hearing benefit would make it worth my keeping them. He suggested that 70/30 in favor of sufficient benefit was more like it. Any opinions about the likelihood of major benefit? Any other recommendations? (for what it's worth, there is no Costco for hundreds of miles, so that resource is out)

My audiogram last week looks like:
    hZ ... R .. L
    250... 35 .. 45 db
    500 .. 30 ..40
    1000.. 45..50
    1500.. 50.. 60
    2000.. 50.. 65
    3000 .. 50..75
    4000... 80.. 80
    5000... 85.. 90
    8000... 90.. 80

Speech R srt 35 R MCL 70
    L srt 55 l MCL 70
    (I have no idea what SRT and MCL figures signify)

Many thanks for your assistance.

Jim
    Last edited by Jim44Maine; 11-14-2010 at 10:07 AM. Reason: readability

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44Maine View Post