Thread: So I bit the bullet - Oticon Acto Pro's

1. Default So I bit the bullet - Oticon Acto Pro's

So, I have aids now.

It's a mixed bag.. on one hand, HOLY COW, I CAN HEAR!

On the other... I dunno. There's "something".

I've been to one fitting thus far, so I'm still new to them. I'm having some comfort issues. My loss dictates that one ear needs to be occluded (Power Dome) while the other can be open, but my head feels very wrong that way.

I tried the first week with open domes on both. This week I'm doing power domes on both, for contrast, while I wait for ear molds to come in. The open domes wouldn't stay in place... and I think the 8mm power domes are too small as moving much opens up the ear canal which makes it hard to get used to the occluding feel since I can move so it goes away. So hopefully the ear molds will help with that.

Every day life is much louder. I can hear with a lot less effort. The audi tried to talk to me w/o my aids in and it was very difficult to understand her, when I know I could hear her "ok" before I got the aids.

Streaming is "alright". Calls are good now that she adjusted the volume for bluetooth calling. Music is another matter... as basically the bass balance that I used to enjoy is dead. Actually it even more feels like the Acto's simply don't generate any real bass kind of sound. It would be ... semi-absurd to upgrade to the Agil's simply for the bass boost, but ... i'm going to trial them when I get some more project $$ in to cover the increase.

My Audi basically makes you buy them to trial them and has a return period... the up side is, you try them for longer than some of the "trials" I'd seen on here. Maybe for veteran users a week trial would be good, but I'm still fighting with ear fit, heh.