Thread: Oticon Delta 8000 compared to???

Default Oticon Delta 8000 compared to???

Hi,

I haven't been back to this forum for a number of years. So I've spend some time catching up.

I need some help. I've been wearing the Oticon Deltas 8000 for the past five years. Although my audiogram hasn't changed, I've been having more and more trouble distinguishing speech with them.

Fast forward. I lost one last month. Now I need to decide whether I simply replace the lost one or go forward and look for newer technology.

Has anyone moved from or compared the Oticon Delta 8000 to something else?

(My aids were provided for my by the Bureau of Rehabilitation. But since according to my audiogram, my hearing has not gotten worse, I'm not eligible for a new pair or a replacement. ) So now I'm grappling with the notion of money. Would it be worth my while to start fresh. If so, with what?

Have any of you purchased used hearing aids?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Left Right

250-5 250-30
    500-35 500-45
    1000-35 1000-45
    2000-40 2000-40
    4000-45 4000-40
    6000-55 6000- 50
    8000-75 8000-70

Word Recognition Right- 96 % Left-100%

Default Oticon Delta 8000 Comparison

A friend has Delta 8000's and likes them very well. So I trialed a Delta 8000 in January. (Left ear only since I have no usable hearing in the Right.) It did not work well at all for my hearing loss. Word recognition in even a slightly noisy environment was poor. Several forum members suggested an aid with newer technology might be better. I then trialed an Oticon Dual XW in February with much better results. If I were able to use a pair the Dual's might be satisfactory. I still had the "head shadow" effect with the single Dual, so my MD and my audiologist strongly recommended a bi-cros aid, so that is what I'll be trialing next.