Hearing Aid Forums | Hearing Loss | Hearing Aids
Go Back   Hearing Aid Forums | Hearing Loss | Hearing Aids > Scam Alert! > Scam Alert!

Scam Alert! Discussion about any scams that you feel you want to warn other users about.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2011, 03:20 PM
Deafkid88 Deafkid88 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Grove City, OH
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Deafkid88
Exclamation Foundation for Sight & Sound a scam?

This is a hearing aid foundation that helps ppl with hearing aid purchases, I've called and got a form the fill out than seen that I could be possibly denied cause I have household (myself, roommate & an unemployed roomate) but I'm my only finical with rent,bills etc. and the foundation is asking me to send $200.00 non refundable fee,

Chances are I could be denied and asking for assistant with hearing aid cause I can't afford and loose $200. As well with it?

Is there a way the company will release they're percentage that they help to see if they are not a scAm & just collecting $. I can't find them on BBB.org
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2011, 06:52 AM
nancyb nancyb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Did you look this place up on the Internet? I would be very very wary of a place that asks you to send in $200 before they do anything.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2011, 08:32 AM
ed121 ed121 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bethesda, MD (Washn DC)
Posts: 895
Default

Obvious Ripp-off. ED
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:17 AM
iceman0486 iceman0486 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 292
Default

Look into The Hearing Foundation - IIRC it is run by Starkey, and I think it costs the same. Not many qualify on their program though.
__________________
Licensed Hearing Instrument Specialist in Kentucky
Working with Hear in Kentucky - primarily with StarkeyAudibel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:42 AM
DocAudio DocAudio is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central Kentucky, USA
Posts: 613
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deafkid88 View Post
This is a hearing aid foundation that helps ppl with hearing aid purchases, I've called and got a form the fill out than seen that I could be possibly denied cause I have household (myself, roommate & an unemployed roomate) but I'm my only finical with rent,bills etc. and the foundation is asking me to send $200.00 non refundable fee,

Chances are I could be denied and asking for assistant with hearing aid cause I can't afford and loose $200. As well with it?

Is there a way the company will release they're percentage that they help to see if they are not a scAm & just collecting $. I can't find them on BBB.org
Household usually does not mean room-mates. You would state your responsibility for your portion but I don't think you include those not related to you. If you were married then you would include a spouse's income...but I'm pretty sure this doesn't apply for those you aren't legally bound to. You see, you can't count on their income as yours on credit card applications or mortgages so why would you report them on this?

Hear Now does ask for an application fee of $125/ear up-front but they have their income requirements stated plainly in their application packet so you can get an idea of whether you qualify or not before sending the money in.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2012, 07:20 AM
Cosmo Cosmo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 162
Default

The Starkey Hearing Foundation some call it Hear Now, does charge an application fee. However they will try and pre-qualify you over the phone. If they do not think you qualify, they will not send the application. They are NOT a scam, they are supported by list of credible people to long to list, including: Bill Clinton, Donald Trump, Marlee Matlin.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-25-2012, 09:53 AM
Kecetrarype Kecetrarype is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Benin
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to Kecetrarype
Default зоо клиника

посоветуйте пожалуйста хорошую зоо клинику в москве
__________________
mykotte.ru
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2012, 11:52 AM
Cosmo Cosmo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kecetrarype View Post
посоветуйте пожалуйста хорошую зоо клинику в москве
I am sorry but can't agree with you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Manabe & Associates, LLC dba www.localbattery.com & www.freehearingaidbatteries.net